Visual Analytics and Communication

TC Leadership

Weidong Huang

TC Co-Chair

Weidong Huang (Email)
University of Tasmania
Tasmania, Australia

Henry Duh

TC Co-Chair

Henry Duh (Email)
University of Tasmania
Tasmania, Australia

Yuhua Luo

TC Co-Chair

Yuhua Luo (Email)
University of the Balearic Islands
Palma, Spain

Our Goal

It is widely acknowledged that visual analytics and communication has an important role in facilitating us for the exploring and understanding of big data. Our technical committee’s mission is therefore to build the community to bring active world-class industrial and academic exerts together and provide a platform to foster collaboration among them to discuss the current state of the art research and identify future opportunities. The community will be devoted to design, development and application of theories, methodologies, tools and systems of visual analytics and communication. The activities we plan to conduct towards the fulfillment of our mission include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Actively participate in activities organized or sponsored by the SMC society.
  • Organize IEEE/SMC conferences on visual analytics and communication.
  • Organize a special track in the annual SMC conference.
  • Edit special issues and review papers for SMC publications including IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems.
  • Establish special interest group in visual analytics and communication.
  • Enhance awareness and promote membership growth of the TC and the SMC society.


  • Matt Adcock, CSIRO, Australia
  • Md. Atiqur Rahman Ahad, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Adel Ahmed, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Zhifeng Bao, RMIT University, Australia
  • Felix Baumann, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Robert Biuk-Aghai, University of Macau, Macau
  • Michael Burch, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Shiwei Cheng, Zhejiang University of Technology, China
  • Kelvin Cheng, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Lewis Chuang, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Germany
  • Jacob Cybulski, Deakin University, Australia
  • Henry Duh, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Ulrich Engelke, CSIRO, Australia
  • Selim Erol, Technical University Wien, Austria
  • Pilar Fuster Parra, University of Balearic Islands (UIB), Spain
  • Leman Figen Gul, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
  • Jian He, Guangxi University of Science and Technology, China
  • Masahito Hirakawa, Shimane University, Japan
  • Lei Hou, Griffith University, Australia
  • Xiaodi Huang, Charles Sturt University, Australia
  • Weidong Huang, University of Tasmania, Australia
  • Hirokazu Kato, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
  • Karsten Klein, Monash University, Australia
  • Jun Kong, North Dakota State University, USA
  • Shujun Li, University of Surrey, UK
  • Chun-Cheng Lin, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Hengyang Liu, Chongqing University of Technology, China
  • Tingyu Liu, Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China
  • Erika M. Cortés López, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico
  • Jing Luo, Chongqing Jiaotong University, China
  • Yuhua Luo, University of the Balearic Islands, Spain
  • Kwan-Liu Ma, University of California at Davis, USA
  • Kazuo Misue, University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • Quang Vinh Nguyen, University of Western Sydney, Australia
  • Nikola Nikolov, University of Limerick, Ireland
  • Yoshihiro Okada, Kyushu University, Japan
  • Paul Parsons, Purdue University, USA
  • Kamran Sedig, Western University, Canada
  • Xiaobin Shen, Australian National Data Service, Australia
  • Thomas Tamisier, Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology, Luxembourg
  • Jie-Li Tsai, National Chengchi University, Taiwan
  • Huifen Wang, Nanjing University of Science and Technology, China
  • Hung-Lung Wang, National Taipei University of Business, Taiwan
  • Zhiyong Wang, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Sai-Keung Wong, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Hsiang-Yun Wu, Keio University, Japan
  • Keqin Wu, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, USA
  • Xiujuan Xu, Dalian University of Technology, China
  • Jianlong Zhou, National ICT Australia, Australia
  • Min Zhu, Sichuan University, China

Learn More

These tutorial materials provide more information on topics of interest to our technical committee.

Recent Activities

Organized series of conferences on our area of interest in recent years:

Edited a number of related special issues in:

  • Journal on Multimodel User Interfaces
  • Concurrent Engineering
  • Symmetry
  • Journal of Visual Languages and Computing
  • International Journal of Software Engineering and Knowledge Engineering

Edited scholarly books:

Join Us

Our vision is to build an active, supportive, and productive community within the SMC society to foster the international collaboration among researchers and practitioners with a goal to further advance the cutting-edge research of visual analytics and communication and promote the application and impact of the research being performed in the real world.

Back to top