Most Active Technical Committee Award


To recognize the most active SMC Technical Committee. Up to three awards per year with a maximum of one Technical Committee each chosen from Cybernetics, Human-Machine Systems, and Systems Science and Engineering. (Established in 2007)


$1,000 for use in Technical Committee activities and a Plaque.


Funded by the IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society through an endowment administered by the IEEE Foundation.


SMCS Technical Committees that have not received the award during the past three years.

Basis for Judging

Recruiting of new members, involvement in workshops and SMCS sponsored conferences, special issues, tutorials, senior member and fellow nominations, and encouraging emerging areas in the SMCS Field of Interest.


At the IEEE International Conference on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics.

Past Awardees


  • IEEE SMC Technical Committe on Shared Control chaired by Makoto Itoh, Tricia L. Gibo, and Erwin R. Boer
    "For the most active SMC Technical Committee."


  • IEEE SMC Technical Committee on Medical Mechatronics chaired by Ming-Yih Lee, Yi-Hung Liu, and Chung-Hsien Kuo
    "For the most active SMC Technical Committee."


  • IEEE SMC Technical Committee on Awareness Computing chaired by Goutam Chakraborty, Tadahiko Murata, & Qiangfu Zhao
    "For significant achievements in membership growth, establishing and promoting the Awareness Computing technical area, and active support of SMC Society sponsored technical activities."