IEEE SMC Society Annual Awards

- IEEE SMC Lotfi A. Zadeh Pioneer Award
- Norbert Wiener Award
- Joseph G. Wohl Outstanding Career Award
- Outstanding Contribution Award
- IEEE SMC Early Career Award
- IEEE SMC Meritorious Service Award
- IEEE SMC Outstanding Service To Humanity Award
- Andrew P. Sage Best Transactions Paper Award
- IEEE SMC Best Associate Editor Award
- IEEE Most Active SMC Technical Committee Award
- IEEE Outstanding SMC Chapter Award
- IEEE Outstanding SMCS Student Branch Chapter Award
- Franklin V. Taylor Memorial Award (best SMC 2022 conference paper)
- IEEE SMC Best Student Paper Award







2022 Technical Achievement Awards

IEEE SMC Lotfi A. Zadeh Pioneer Award

• Stephen Grossberg, Boston University

For seminal contributions to understanding brain cognition and behavior and their emulation by technology

Professor Grossberg's work is an exemplary contribution to cybernetics. His models of brain dynamics have shown extraordinary foresight and predictive power. His persistence to establish the success of these models decades before the ideas gained traction bears great resemblance to the pioneering approach for which Professor Zadeh was known.







2022 Outstanding Service Awards

- Outstanding Contribution Award:
 - Saeid Nahavandi IEEE SMC 2021 Conference General Chair
- ✤ IEEE SMC Early Career Award:
 - Xiaojie Su Theory and industrial applications of fuzzy control
- Meritorious Service Awards:
 - Robert Kozma
 - Chun Sing Lai
 - Anthony Maciejewski

- Christopher Nemeth
- Anikó Szakál
- Jay (Jiacun) Wang







2022 Andrew P. Sage Best Transactions Awards

- Secure State Estimation and Control of Cyber-Physical Systems: A survey, IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics: Systems, 51(1), 176-190, 2021. Authors: Derui Ding, Qing-Long Han, Xiaohua Ge, and Jun Wang
- A Self-Paced BCI with a Collaborative Controller for Highly Reliable Wheelchair Driving: Experimental Tests With Physically Disabled Individuals, IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems, 51(2), 109-119, 2021.

Authors: Aniana Cruz, Gabriel Pires, Ana Lopes, Carlos Carona, Urbano J. Nunes

A Dynamic Periodic Event-Triggered Approach to Consensus of Heterogeneous Linear Multiagent Systems With Time-Varying Communication Delays, IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics, 51(4), 1812-1821, 2021.

Authors: Chao Deng, Wei-Wei Che, and Zheng-Guang Wu

COVIDSenti: A Large-Scale Benchmark Twitter Data Set for COVID-19 Sentiment Analysis, IEEE Transactions on Computational Social Systems, 8(4), 1003-1015, 2021.

Authors: Usman Naseem, Imran Razzak, Matloob Khushi, Peter W. Eklund and Jinman Kim







2022 IEEE SMC Best Associate Editor Awards

✤ IEEE Transactions on Systems, Man, and Cybernetics: Systems

Long Chen, University of Macau, Macau, China

✤ IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems

Giuseppe Serra, Università Degli Studi Di Udine, Italy

IEEE Transactions on Cybernetics

Bin Jiang, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, P. R. China

✤ IEEE Transactions on Computational Social Systems

Wei Duan, National University of Defense Technology, Changsha, China







2022 Chapter Awards

✤ IEEE Outstanding SMC Chapter Award

- France Section SMCS Chapter
- Marie-Hélène Abel

For outstanding leadership, member recruitment, and service to members

Chair: Nada Matta







2022 IEEE Most Active SMC Technical Committee Awards

Systems Science and Engineering

Technical Committee on Homeland Security

Chairs: Francesco Flammini, Qiudan Li, Justin Zhan, and Chris Yang

Human-Machine Systems

Technical Committee on Visual Analytics and Communication Chairs: Weidong Huang, Yuhua Luo, and Henry Duh

Cybernetics

Technical Committee on Intelligent Industrial Systems

Chairs: Pavel Vrba, Thomas Strasser, and Amro M. Farid







2022 Franklin V. Taylor Memorial Award

(Best SMC 2022 conference paper)

"What Comes After Telepresence? Embodiment, Social Presence and

Transporting One's Functional and Social Self" (Paper 165)

Authors:

Jan B.F. van Erp, Camille Sallaberry, Christiaan Brekelmans, Douwe Dresscher, Frank ter Haar, Gwenn Englebienne, Jeanine van Bruggen, Joachim de Greeff, Leonor Fermoselle Silva Pereira, Alexander Toet, Nirul Hoeba, Robin Lieftink, Sara Falcone, and Tycho Brug







2022 Franklin V. Taylor Memorial Award – Runners Up

(runners up for best SMC 2022 conference paper)

- "A Method for Evaluation and Optimization of Automotive Camera Systems based on Simulated Raw Sensor Data" (Paper 162) Stefan Roos, Tim Brühl, Moritz Pfeffer, Lukas Ewecker and Wilhelm Stork
- "Learning Temporal Context of Normality for Unsupervised Anomaly Detection in Videos" (Paper 445) Wooyeol Hyun, Woo-Jeoung Nam, Jooyeon Lee and Seong-Whan Lee
- "SeeWay: Vision-Language Assistive Navigation for the Visually Impaired" (Paper 556) Zongming Yang, Liang Yang, Liren Kong, Ailin Wei, Jesse Leaman, Johnell Brooks, and Bing Li
- "Human Intracortical Responses to Varying Electrical Stimulation Conditions are Separable in Low-dimensional Subspaces" (Paper 694) Samantha Sun, Lila H. Levinson, Courtnie J. Paschall, Jeffrey Herron, Kurt Weaver, Jason Hauptman, Andrew Ko, Jeffrey Ojemann and Rajesh P. N. Rao







2022 IEEE SMC Best Student Paper Awards

(Tie)

"A Passive Brain-Computer Interface for Monitoring Engagement during Robot-Assisted Language Learning" (Paper 527)

Authors:

Jos Prinsen, Ethel Pruss, Anita Vrins, Caterina Ceccato, and Maryam Alimardani "Segmentation of Indoor Daily Living Environments into Regions Used for Different Purposes" (Paper 421)

Authors:

Kenji Naito and Koh Kakusho







2022 IEEE SMC Best Student Paper Award – Runners Up

- "State Observer for Position Control of Systems with Quantized Outputs in Large Scale Robotics" (Paper 93) Bernd Müller, Simon Lang, Simon Densborn and Oliver Sawodny
- "Ant Colony Optimization for Electric Vehicle Routing Problem with Capacity and Charging Time Constraints" (Paper 225) Zi-Hao Nie, Qiang Yang, En Zhang, Dong Liu and Jun Zhang
- "DandelionTouch: High Fidelity Haptic Rendering of Soft Objects in VR by a Swarm of Drones" (Paper 914) Aleksey Fedoseev, Ahmed Baza, Ayush Gupta, Ekaterina Dorzhieva, Riya Neelesh Gujarathi and Dzmitry Tsetserukou







Best Paper Awards

Presented by the IEEE Brain Technical Community

- "Human intracortical responses to varying electrical stimulation conditions are separable in low-dimensional subspace," (Paper 694) Samantha Sun, Lila H. Levinson, Courtnie J. Paschall, Jeffrey Herron, Kurt Weaver, Jason Hauptman, Andrew Ko, Jeffrey Ojemann, and Rajesh P. N. Rao
- Respiratory modulation of cortical rhythms testing the phase transition hypothesis," (Paper 872) Robert Kozma, Joshua J.J. Davis, Samuel S. McAfee, James W. Wheless, and Detlef Heck





